Tot 2-6 years

smilig kids air tubes small

Hands-on exploration and interactive stories engage children as they learn about science, language, engineering, art, mathematics, and social skills. Class topics repeat throughout the same week at different times.

Cost per child per class: $12 public; $10 members

Advance registration required; payment must accompany registration. Please call 815-963-6769 or click to register below.  

Cancellation Policy: Refunds are available through the close of registration, minus 10%. Discovery Center reserves the right to cancel events; in which case, a full refund will be issued.

In our classes for 2-year-olds, children must be accompanied by an adult.

At this time, we are limiting the number of people in the room for Tot Spot classes (ages 3 – 6) so parents are requested to wait outside and not accompany their child in to the Tot Spot classroom.

COVID-19 Protocols: In accordance with state and local health guidelines, all children, guardians and staff will be required to wear face coverings (over nose and mouth). 

 

Tot Spot Classes Fall 2021


Blast Off!

3, 2, 1, BLAST OFF! Fly in to explore outer space, our solar system, and what it’s like to be an astronaut. Create a rocket, learn about moon craters, and paint a nebula to journey home with you.

Sessions for 3- to 6-year-olds: Click to Register
Session 1 Tues., Nov. 16; 11:00 a.m. – Noon
Session 2 Wed., Nov. 17; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 3 Wed., Nov. 17; 11:00 a.m. – Noon
Session 4 Wed., Nov. 17; 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.
Session 5 Thurs., Nov. 18; 11:00 - Noon
Session 6 Fri., Nov. 19; 11:00 a.m. - Noon
Session 7 Sat., Nov. 20; 9:30 - 10:30 a.m.

Sessions for 2-year-olds: Click to Register
(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)
Session 8 Tues., Nov. 16; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 9 Thurs., Nov. 17; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 10 Fri., Nov. 18; 9:30 - 10:30 a.m.


Crazy Colors

Colors are all around us and can blend together to make new colors! Explore how red, yellow, and blue can mix it up through science experiments, messy (and not so messy) painting, and colorful stories. What colors will you discover?

Sessions for 3- to 6-year-olds: Click to Register
Session 1 Tues., Nov. 30; 11:00 a.m. – Noon
Session 2 Wed., Dec. 1; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 3 Wed., Dec. 1; 11:00 a.m. – Noon
Session 4 Wed., Dec. 1; 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.
Session 5 Thurs., Dec. 2; 11:00 - Noon
Session 6 Fri., Dec. 3; 11:00 a.m. - Noon
Session 7 Sat., Dec. 4; 9:30 - 10:30 a.m.

Sessions for 2-year-olds: Click to Register
(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)
Session 8 Tues., Nov. 30; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 9 Thurs., Dec. 2; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 10 Fri., Dec. 3; 9:30 - 10:30 a.m.


Party Time

It’s party time! Let’s get ready to have a celebration by making instruments, creating crowns, and making party decorations. Finish off by having the best party of all: a silly dance party!

Sessions for 3- to 6-year-olds: Click to Register
Session 1 Tues., Dec. 14; 11:00 a.m. – Noon
Session 2 Wed., Dec. 15; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 3 Wed., Dec. 15; 11:00 a.m. – Noon
Session 4 Wed., Dec. 15; 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.
Session 5 Thurs., Dec. 16; 11:00 - Noon
Session 6 Fri., Dec. 17; 11:00 a.m. - Noon
Session 7 Sat., Dec. 18; 9:30 - 10:30 a.m.

Sessions for 2-year-olds: Click to Register
(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)
Session 8 Tues., Dec. 14; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 9 Thurs., Dec. 16; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 10 Fri., Dec. 17; 9:30 - 10:30 a.m.

 

Tot Spot Classes Winter/Spring 2022

Fantastic Flight

Soar in to explore different ways to make things fly! Discover different animals and objects that take flight, launch a rocket, and create your own flying machine to take home.

Sessions for 3- to 6-year-olds: Click to Register
Session 1 Tues., Jan 11; 11:00 a.m. – Noon
Session 2 Wed., Jan 12; 11:00 a.m. – Noon
Session 3 Wed., Jan 12; 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.
Session 4 Thurs., Jan 13; 11:00 - Noon
Session 5 Fri., Jan 14; 11:00 a.m.- Noon
Session 6 Sat., Jan 15; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

Sessions for 2-year-olds: Click to Register
(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)
Session 7 Tues., Jan 11; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 8 Wed., Jan 12; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 9 Thurs., Jan 13; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 10 Fri., Jan 14; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

 

Let’s Make Some Noise

Come get noisy with us! Enjoy a LOUD story, explore the sounds different objects make, and create instruments out of recycled materials to take home.

Sessions for 3- to 6-year-olds: Click to Register
Session 1 Tues., Jan 25; 11:00 a.m. – Noon
Session 2 Wed., Jan 26; 11:00 a.m. – Noon
Session 3 Wed., Jan 26; 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.
Session 4 Thurs., Jan 27; 11:00 - Noon
Session 5 Fri., Jan 28; 11:00 a.m.- Noon
Session 6 Sat., Jan 29; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

Sessions for 2-year-olds: Click to Register
(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)
Session 7 Tues., Jan 25; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 8 Wed., Jan 26; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 9 Thurs., Jan 27; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 10 Fri., Jan 28; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

 

Ooey Gooey Chemistry

Come get messy as we discover the science of mixing things together! Become a scientist as we experiment with colors, basic chemical reactions, and create slime to take home.

Sessions for 3- to 6-year-olds: Click to Register
Session 1 Tues., Feb 8; 11:00 a.m. – Noon
Session 2 Wed., Feb 9; 11:00 a.m. – Noon
Session 3 Wed., Feb 9; 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.
Session 4 Thurs., Feb 10; 11:00 - Noon
Session 5 Fri., Feb 11; 11:00 a.m.- Noon
Session 6 Sat., Feb 12; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

Sessions for 2-year-olds: Click to Register
(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)
Session 7 Tues., Feb 8; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 8 Wed., Feb 9; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 9 Thurs., Feb 10; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 10 Fri., Feb 11; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

 

Build It Bigger

How high can you build a tower? How strong can you build a boat? Explore engineering and learn about the building process as we use lots of different materials to construct and create towers, bridges, and more.

Sessions for 3- to 6-year-olds: Click to Register
Session 1 Tues., Feb 22; 11:00 a.m. – Noon
Session 2 Wed., Feb 23; 11:00 a.m. – Noon
Session 3 Wed., Feb 23; 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.
Session 4 Thurs., Feb 24; 11:00 - Noon
Session 5 Fri., Feb 25; 11:00 a.m.- Noon
Session 6 Sat., Feb 26; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

Sessions for 2-year-olds: Click to Register
(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)
Session 7 Tues., Feb 22; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 8 Wed., Feb 23; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 9 Thurs., Feb 24; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 10 Fri., Feb 25; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

 

All About Animals

Roar, slither, and hop into class as we explore the world of animals! Discover new things about some of our favorite animals as we learn about different animal tails, construct a giant bird’s nest, and create animals to take home using unusual art materials.

Sessions for 3- to 6-year-olds: Click to Register
Session 1 Tues., Mar 8; 11:00 a.m. – Noon
Session 2 Wed., Mar 9; 11:00 a.m. – Noon
Session 3 Wed., Mar 9; 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.
Session 4 Thurs., Mar 10; 11:00 - Noon
Session 5 Fri., Mar 11; 11:00 a.m.- Noon
Session 6 Sat., Mar 12; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

Sessions for 2-year-olds: Click to Register
(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)
Session 7 Tues., Mar 8; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 8 Wed., Mar 9; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 9 Thurs., Mar 10; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 10 Fri., Mar 11; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

 

Rolling Ramps

Roll into class and get ready to move as we experiment with ramps! Explore friction and angles as we construct ramps to uncover why things roll, as well as create art using inclined planes.

Sessions for 3- to 6-year-olds: Click to Register
Session 1 Tues., Apr 5; 11:00 a.m. – Noon
Session 2 Wed., Apr 6; 11:00 a.m. – Noon
Session 3 Wed., Apr 6; 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.
Session 4 Thurs., Apr 7; 11:00 - Noon
Session 5 Fri., Apr 8; 11:00 a.m.- Noon
Session 6 Sat., Apr 9; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

Sessions for 2-year-olds: Click to Register
(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)
Session 7 Tues., Apr 5; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 8 Wed., Apr 6; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 9 Thurs., Apr 7; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 10 Fri., Apr 8; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

 

Exploring Magnets

Explore the power of magnets and discover what makes something magnetic. Use magnets to build tall towers, use magnet wands to find hidden letters, and even create a painting!

Sessions for 3- to 6-year-olds: Click to Register
Session 1 Tues., Apr 19; 11:00 a.m. – Noon
Session 2 Wed., Apr 20; 11:00 a.m. – Noon
Session 3 Wed., Apr 20; 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.
Session 4 Thurs., Apr 21; 11:00 - Noon
Session 5 Fri., Apr 22; 11:00 a.m.- Noon
Session 6 Sat., Apr 23; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

Sessions for 2-year-olds: Click to Register
(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)
Session 7 Tues., Apr 19; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 8 Wed., Apr 20; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 9 Thurs., Apr 21; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 10 Fri., Apr 22; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

 

Getting Ready for Kindergarten

Join our classroom as we get ready for Kindergarten! Enjoy stories, explore shapes and patterns, sing your ABC’s, and play with new friends as we practice skills that will get us ready for school.

Sessions for 3- to 6-year-olds: Click to Register
Session 1 Tues., May 3; 11:00 a.m. – Noon
Session 2 Wed., May 4; 11:00 a.m. – Noon
Session 3 Wed., May 4; 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.
Session 4 Thurs., May 5; 11:00 - Noon
Session 5 Fri., May 6; 11:00 a.m.- Noon
Session 6 Sat., May 7; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

Sessions for 2-year-olds: Click to Register
(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)
Session 7 Tues., May 3; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 8 Wed., May 4; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 9 Thurs., May 5; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
Session 10 Fri., May 6; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

Toddler Time

Being one is FUN! Take advantage of this playgroup designed for children ages 12 months to 24 months as we sing songs, read stories and explore interesting materials while meeting new friends! Toddler Time is held from 9:30 – 10:30 am this fall/winter on one Tuesday and Thursday each month.

Choose from these dates: January 18, January 20, February 15, February 17, March 15, March 17, April 12, April 15, May 10, and May12.

Enrollment is limited to 6 families. The class costs $8.00 per child for members and $10.00 child for the public, and advance registration is required.

Click to Register or call 815-963-6769. Toddler Time meets in the Tot Spot classroom (main floor, east end of the building).

 

What's Happening?

Check out our calendar of special events.