Tot 2-6 years

group of kids with teacherTot Spot Classes are designed to stimulate pre-school minds and encourage creative thinking through a combination of art, stories, movement and music. New Tot Spot classes are offered throughout the year, so check back frequently!

Tot Spot classes are designed for children ages 2 through 6.

Please note that admission to Discovery Center Museum itself is separate from the Tot Spot classes.

Cost: $12 public; $10 members (per child, per class) - advance registration is required.

In our classes for 2-year-olds, children must be accompanied by an adult.  We require that siblings (including babies) not be in attendance.  Your child needs your undivided attention.

Adults are not required to attend classes for 3- to 6-year-old children but are welcome to come in to observe the class.

Cancellation Policy:  Refunds (less 10%) are available for classes when cancelled at least 10 days in advance.

Registration begins December 12 for Members and December 15 for Public.  

To register, call 815-963-6769, stop by our office or register online (at the top of the events purchasing page you can sort by event type).

If you are having trouble registering, please contact us at 815-963-6769.

 

Tot Spot Classes – Winter/Spring 2017

 

Snowballs

Reading the story Snowballs by Lois Elhert will inspire us to create our own snowperson out of great recycled materials and have an indoor snowball fight!

Sessions for 3 – 6-year-olds:

Session 1 Mon., Jan 23; 9:30 – 10:30 am (Please note date)

Session 2 Tues., Jan 17; 11:00 am – Noon

Session 4 Wed., Jan 18; 11:00 am – Noon

Session 5 Wed., Jan 18; 1:00 – 2:00 pm

Session 6 Thurs., Jan 19; 9:30 – 10:30 am

 

Sessions for 2-year-olds:

(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)

Session 8 Thurs., Jan 19; 11:00 am – Noon

 

Saturday Special for 2-6 year olds:

Session 9 Sat., Jan 21; 10:00 – 11:00 am

 

My Funny Valentine

Stop at Discovery Center for a Valentine’s Day party.  Learn all about an important organ, the heart, and hear your own heart beat with a stethoscope.  Don’t skip a beat learning ways to keep your heart healthy while you make a heartwarming Valentine for someone you love.

Sessions for 3 – 6-year-olds:

Session 1 Mon., Feb 6; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 2 Tues., Feb 7; 11:00 am – Noon

Session 3 Wed., Feb 8; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 4 Wed., Feb 8; 11:00 am – Noon

Session 5 Wed., Feb 8; 1:00 – 2:00 pm

Session 6 Thurs., Feb 9; 9:30 – 10:30 am

 

Sessions for 2-year-olds:

(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)

Session 7 Tues., Feb 7; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 8 Thurs., Feb 9; 11:00 am – Noon

 

Saturday Special for 2-6 year olds:

Session 9 Sat., Feb 11; 10:00 – 11:00 am

 

 

Who Are the People in Your Neighborhood?

The people that we meet each day…let’s learn about our community helpers such as mail carriers, police officers and garbage collectors.  We will discuss what it takes to do their jobs and even dress up like them!

Sessions for 3 – 6-year-olds:

Session 1 Mon., Feb 27; 9:30 – 10:30 am (Please note date)

Session 2 Tues., Feb 21; 11:00 am – Noon

Session 3 Wed., Feb 22; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 4 Wed., Feb 22; 11:00 am – Noon

Session 5 Wed., Feb 22; 1:00 – 2:00 pm

Session 6 Thurs., Feb 23; 9:30 – 10:30 am

 

Sessions for 2-year-olds:

(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)

Session 7 Tues., Feb 21; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 8 Thurs., Feb 23; 11:00 am – Noon

 

 

The Wind Blew                                           

Have you ever wondered what sways the trees…let’s explore wind!  Blow into the Discovery Center to learn about the weather.  Do some playful experimenting with our wind columns and make a windy day project to take home.

Sessions for 3 – 6-year-olds:

Session 1 Mon., Mar 6; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 2 Tues., Mar 7; 11:00 am – Noon

Session 3 Wed., Mar 8; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 4 Wed., Mar 8; 11:00 am – Noon

Session 5 Wed., Mar 8; 1:00 – 2:00 pm

Session 6 Thurs., Mar 9; 9:30 – 10:30 am

 

Sessions for 2-year-olds:

(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)

Session 7 Tues., Mar 7; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 8 Thurs., Mar 9; 11:00 am – Noon

 

Saturday Special for 2-6 year olds:

Session 9 Sat., Mar 11; 10:00 – 11:00 am

 

Birds of a Feather

Tweet Tweet …we will soar through our class exploring the world of birds.  We will learn about their sounds, colors, how they make their nests and even do some weaving of our own.

Sessions for 3 – 6-year-olds:

Session 1 Mon., Mar 20; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 2 Tues., Mar 21; 11:00 am – Noon

Session 3 Wed., Mar 22; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 4 Wed., Mar 22; 11:00 am – Noon

Session 5 Wed., Mar 22; 1:00 – 2:00 pm

Session 6 Thurs., Mar 23; 9:30 – 10:30 am

 

Sessions for 2-year-olds:

(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)

Session 7 Tues., Mar 21; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 8 Thurs., Mar 23; 11:00 am – Noon

 

Saturday Special for 2-6 year olds:

Session 9 Sat., Mar 25; 10:00 – 11:00 am

 

Dinosaur Dig

Become a paleontologist, as we dig for dinosaur bones, learn how to preserve the ones we find, touch real dinosaur bones and make a dinosaur for our very own collection.

Sessions for 3 – 6-year-olds:

Session 1 Mon., Apr 3; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 2 Tues., Apr 4; 11:00 am – Noon

Session 3 Wed., Apr 5; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 4 Wed., Apr 5; 11:00 am – Noon

Session 5 Wed., Apr 5; 1:00 – 2:00 pm

Session 6 Thurs., Apr 6; 9:30 – 10:30 am

 

Sessions for 2-year-olds:

(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)

Session 7 Tues., Apr 4; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 8 Thurs., Apr 6; 11:00 am – Noon

 

Saturday Special for 2-6 year olds:

Session 9 Sat., Apr 8; 10:00 – 11:00 am

 

Caterpillars and Butterflies

Learn how caterpillars eat, grow and change and make a beautiful butterfly to take home.

Sessions for 3 – 6-year-olds:

Session 1 Mon., Apr 24; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 2 Tues., Apr 25; 11:00 am – Noon

Session 3 Wed., Apr 26; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 4 Wed., Apr 26; 11:00 am – Noon

Session 5 Wed., Apr 26; 1:00 – 2:00 pm

Session 6 Thurs., Apr 27; 9:30 – 10:30 am

 

Sessions for 2-year-olds:

(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)

Session 7 Tues., Apr 25; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 8 Thurs., Apr 27; 11:00 am – Noon

 

Saturday Special for 2-6 year olds:

Session 9 Sat., Apr 29; 10:00 – 11:00 am

 

Does a Kangaroo Have a Mother Too?

Match baby animals with their mothers and make a special gift to give your mother or grandmother for Mother’s Day!

Sessions for 3 – 6-year-olds:

Session 1 Mon., May 8; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 2 Tues., May 9; 11:00 am – Noon

Session 3 Wed., May 10; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 4 Wed., May 10; 11:00 am – Noon

Session 5 Wed., May 10; 1:00 – 2:00 pm

Session 6 Thurs., May 11; 9:30 – 10:30 am

 

Sessions for 2-year-olds:

(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)

Session 7 Tues., May 9; 9:30 – 10:30 am

Session 8 Thurs., May 11; 11:00 am – Noon

 

Saturday Special for 2-6 year olds:

Session 9 Sat., May 13; 10:00 – 11:00 am

 

What's Happening?

Check out our calendar of special events.