Tot 2-6 years

smilig kids air tubes small

Hands-on exploration and interactive stories engage children as they learn about science, language, engineering, art, mathematics, and social skills. Class topics repeat throughout the same week at different times.

Cost per child per class: $12 public; $10 members

Advance registration required; payment must accompany registration. Please call 815-963-6769 or click to register below.  

Cancellation Policy: Refunds are available through the close of registration, minus 10%. Discovery Center reserves the right to cancel events; in which case, a full refund will be issued.

In our classes for 2-year-olds, children must be accompanied by an adult.

At this time, we are limiting the number of people in the room for Tot Spot classes (ages 3 – 6) so parents are requested to wait outside and not accompany their child in to the Tot Spot classroom.

 

 

Tot Spot Classes Fall 2022  

Buggin' Out

Buzz on in to explore different types of insects! Go on a bug hunt, sing some bug songs, learn how bugs eat, and create your own insect to fly home with you.

Sessions for 3- to 6-year-olds: Click here to register

Session 1 Tues., Sept. 6; 11:00 a.m. – Noon

Session 2 Wed., Sept. 7; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Session 3 Wed., Sept. 7; 11:00 a.m. – Noon

Session 4 Wed., Sept. 7; 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.

Session 5 Thurs., Sept. 8; 11:00 - Noon

Session 6 Fri., Sept. 9; 11:00 a.m.- Noon

Session 7 Sat., Sept 10; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

 

Sessions for 2-year-olds:  Click here to register

(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)

Session 8 Tues., Sept. 6; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Session 9 Thurs., Sept. 8; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Session 10 Fri., Sept 9; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

 

Be a Maker

Join us for a day of imagination and creation as we discover what it takes to make! Create messy art as a group, practice using real tools, read a story about making, and construct something that can roll. What will you make?

Sessions for 3- to 6-year-olds:  Click here to register

Session 1 Tues., Sept. 20; 11:00 a.m. – Noon

Session 2 Wed., Sept. 21; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Session 3 Wed., Sept. 21; 11:00 a.m. – Noon

Session 4 Wed., Sept. 21; 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.

Session 5 Thurs., Sept. 22; 11:00 - Noon

Session 6 Fri., Sept. 23; 11:00 a.m.- Noon

Session 7 Sat., Sept 24; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

 

Sessions for 2-year-olds:    Click here to register

(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)

Session 8 Tues., Sept. 20; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Session 9 Thurs., Sept. 22; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Session 10 Fri., Sept 23; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

 

Math, Math Everywhere

Math is all around us! Discover the ways we use math as we practice counting, measure as we scoop and pour, create patterns, and build pizzas to sell in our pretend play pizza shop.

Sessions for 3- to 6-year-olds:    Click here to register

Session 1 Tues., Oct. 4; 11:00 a.m. – Noon

Session 2 Wed., Oct. 5; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Session 3 Wed., Oct. 5; 11:00 a.m. – Noon

Session 4 Wed., Oct. 5; 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.

Session 5 Thurs., Oct. 6; 11:00 - Noon

Session 6 Fri., Oct. 7; 11:00 a.m.- Noon

Session 7 Sat., Oct. 8; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

 

Sessions for 2-year-olds:    Click here to register

(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)

Session 8 Tues., Oct. 4; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Session 9 Thurs., Oct. 6; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Session 10 Fri., Oct. 7; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

 

Not So Spooky Chemistry

Join us for skele-tons of messy fun as we explore Halloween chemistry! Mix up glowing slime, make a pumpkin erupt, and construct your own monster to take home.

Sessions for 3- to 6-year-olds:    Click here to register

Session 1 Tues., Oct. 18; 11:00 a.m. – Noon

Session 2 Wed., Oct. 19; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Session 3 Wed., Oct. 19; 11:00 a.m. – Noon

Session 4 Wed., Oct. 19; 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.

Session 5 Thurs., Oct. 20; 11:00 - Noon

Session 6 Fri., Oct. 21; 11:00 a.m.- Noon

Session 7 Sat., Oct. 22; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

 

Sessions for 2-year-olds:  Click here to register

(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)

Session 8 Tues., Oct. 18; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Session 9 Thurs., Oct. 20; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Session 10 Fri., Oct. 21; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

 

Ready, Set, Go

Rev those engines and zoom in to explore all things that go! Learn about different types of transportation as we explore cars and ramps, construct something that can fly, and race boats across water.

Sessions for 3- to 6-year-olds:    Click here to register

Session 1 Tues., Nov. 1; 11:00 a.m. – Noon

Session 2 Wed., Nov. 2; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Session 3 Wed., Nov. 2; 11:00 a.m. – Noon

Session 4 Wed., Nov. 2; 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.

Session 5 Thurs., Nov. 3; 11:00 - Noon

Session 6 Fri., Nov. 4; 11:00 a.m.- Noon

 

Sessions for 2-year-olds:  Click here to register

(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)

Session 7 Tues., Nov. 1; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Session 8 Thurs., Nov. 3; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Session 9 Fri., Nov. 4; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

 

Build It

How high can you stack a cup tower? How strong can you build a bridge? Explore engineering and learn about the building process as we use lots of different materials to construct and create towers, castles, and more.

Sessions for 3- to 6-year-olds:    Click here to register

Session 1 Tues., Nov. 15; 11:00 a.m. – Noon

Session 2 Wed., Nov. 16; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Session 3 Wed., Nov. 16; 11:00 a.m. – Noon

Session 4 Wed., Nov. 16; 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.

Session 5 Thurs., Nov. 17; 11:00 - Noon

Session 6 Fri., Nov. 18; 11:00 a.m.- Noon

Session 7 Sat., Nov. 19; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

 

Sessions for 2-year-olds:    Click here to register

(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)

Session 8 Tues., Nov. 15; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Session 9 Thurs., Nov. 17; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Session 10 Fri., Nov. 18; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

 

Under the Sea

Dive in and splash around as we discover what lives under the sea! Catch fish hiding in the water, learn about the ocean, see how you measure up to a shark, and create your own sea creatures to take home.

Sessions for 3- to 6-year-olds:    Click here to register

Session 1 Tues., Nov. 29; 11:00 a.m. – Noon

Session 2 Wed., Nov. 30; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Session 3 Wed., Nov. 30; 11:00 a.m. – Noon

Session 4 Wed., Nov. 30; 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.

Session 5 Thurs., Dec. 1; 11:00 - Noon

Session 6 Fri., Dec. 2; 19:00 a.m.- Noon

Session 7 Sat., Dec. 3; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

 

Sessions for 2-year-olds:  Click here to register

(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)

Session 8 Tues., Nov. 29; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Session 9 Thurs., Dec. 1; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Session 10 Fri., Dec. 2; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

 

Pajama Party

It’s party time! Come in your jammies to hear cozy stories, explore light and dark with flashlights, and design your own paper pajamas to take home.

Sessions for 3- to 6-year-olds:  Click here to register

Session 1 Tues., Dec. 13; 11:00 a.m. – Noon

Session 2 Wed., Dec. 14; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Session 3 Wed., Dec. 14; 11:00 a.m. – Noon

Session 4 Wed., Dec. 14; 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.

Session 5 Thurs., Dec. 15; 11:00 - Noon

Session 6 Fri., Dec. 16; 11:00 a.m.- Noon

Session 7 Sat., Dec. 17; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

 

Sessions for 2-year-olds:  Click here to register

(With an adult, NO siblings, please.)

Session 8 Tues., Dec. 13; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Session 9 Thurs., Dec. 15; 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Session 10 Fri., Dec. 16; 9:30-10:30 a.m.

 

Toddler Time

Being one is FUN! Take advantage of this playgroup designed for children ages 12 months to 24 months as we sing songs, read stories and explore interesting materials while meeting new friends! Toddler Time is held from 9:30 – 10:30 am this fall/winter on one Tuesday and Thursday each month.

Choose from these dates:  Sept. 13, Sept. 15, Oct. 11, Oct. 13, Nov. 8, Nov. 10, Dec. 6, and Dec. 8.

Enrollment is limited to 6 families. The class costs $6.00 per child for members and $8.00 child for the public, and advance registration is required.

Click to Register or call 815-963-6769. Toddler Time meets in the Tot Spot classroom (main floor, east end of the building).

 

What's Happening?

Check out our calendar of special events.